January 30, 2008

  • Round 3 – Cancer of the Lung

    It took me a couple days to get over this shocking news.
    I wasn’t even completely out of shock when my condition worsened.

    I was at Princess Margaret Hospital doing a CT scan so they could plan radiation treatment when after the scan I blacked out. After reviewing the scan it was discovered that there was liquid surrounding my heart not allowing it to completely pump. I was immediately sent to emergency and admitted into the ICU. My heart rate was around 130-140bpm and when I coughed I would almost black out.

    That night they removed the liquid from the heart. Radiation began the next day and Kemo a week later. If the liquid was not removed my heart would have stopped within a week.

    Scary…

    2 weeks later and i’m discharged from the hospital continuing with radiation and kemo as an outpatient. This battle is far from over.

    So 29 years of age, I have lung cancer.

    Over 100375 cigarettes smoked in the past 11 years.

    If you are reading this and do smoke take this moment to save yourself this unfortunate fate.

Comments (7)

  • jesus fucking christ.

    stay strong ming. you’ll see through this.

  • I started realizing just how badly I wanted to quit a while ago, and the thing that has helped me the most has been the pill.  Oh Ming my heart goes out to u and your family, I have faith u will pull through

  • I’ve been keeping up to date on your situation via defcon dave.

    Keep fighting…

    Rob

  • To our dearest friend Ming,
     
    I have been staring at this computer screen for hours, thinking about the right words to say.  Although the words “best friends” comes to mind, it just doesn’t seem to do you any justice.  I’ve realized that there are no words that can define our friendship, and no amount of tears that can take away our feelings of grief.  The one comfort we do have is that we know you are in a better place.  You are now safe and free from pain, isolation, and not knowing your own destiny.
     
    Please rest assured that your family and loved ones will be cared for.
     
    The Ming Dynasty will live forever in our hearts.
     
    We look forward to seeing you again in our dreams and in our afterlife.
     
    Sleep little Panda, sleep.
     
    Love Defcon and family
     
    Dave
    Vivian
    Nicolas
    Isabelle

  • If there’s anyone else out there struggling with the passing of our dear friend, please stop by the Remember Ming page and share an anecdote.
    Thank you and God bless.

  • Your articles are purely enough for me.
    straight from the source

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *